Yannick, a Brittany friend originating from Locminé (Morbihan) and an expatriate in Edmonton in Alberta, is planning to go on an original trip. He wants to go to Saigon overland (except Canada-Europe) in 2013, with one of those huge “Monster trucks” you only see in these vast regions.

In the beginning, his project was a personal challenge, but it has evolved progressively during our contacts. He now offers to carry material to offer to the children of the shelters we support in the Saigon area and to raise funds in the various countries he will cross in order to help us to finance the construction of an orphanage in the suburbs of Ho chi Minh (see our site).
We are in contact with organizations of expatriate Vietnamese, from Brittany and also with other organizations for various reasons (TV coverage, preparation of appointments with Internet users).

We are only in the preparation phase of the project, which is planned to take place in about a year (official departure from  Locminé on  21/08/2013). We count on everyone’s help to put us into contact us with everybody likely to be attracted to participate in this event, which can be described as exceptional. We think about large enterprises that would be willing to put their logo on the truck.

The planned route is: Canada → VM → Great Britain → France  → Italy → Croatia → Bulgaria → Turkey → Iran → Pakistan → India →  Singapore  → Malaysia → Cambodia → Vietnam, but is not final yet. In any case passing through Brittany is mandatory (Locminé, La Gacilly), as well as Paris.

Short portrait of Yannik

Yannick, alias “Filochard or Filoche (silk net)”, was born in 1956, in Moustoir-ac in Brittany. Nationality:  French-Canadian, speaks French and English, basic Spanish and German, is learning Russian and Arabic. At the age of 17, Yannick had a military training as paratrooper in camp Meucon in Morbihan, then fulfills his military service in the first RHP (Regiment of Parachute Hussards) in Tarbes. After that he start working in refrigerated transport, and creates his own company (1986-1992), during this period he travels all the roads in Europe.  It is also during this period that he is better known by his nickname.
In 1999, despite his age, he decided to leave for Canada where he obtained his license for “big transport” and becomes a permanent resident. He works for the “CRS Express” and crosses 48 American States. His taste for adventure takes him to the icy roads of Northern Canada. He arrives in Province of Alberta and works for six months for the Commission “Rainbow” and then for “RTL Robinson” in 2004. He spents three seasons on the famous “iceroads” between Yellowknife and the diamond and gold mines of Ekati and Diavik. Now Yannick now is thinking about this dream that he absolutely wants to achieve in order to help us fund an orphanage in Vietnam.

Yannick, un ami breton originaire de Locminé (Morbihan) expatrié à Edmonton en Alberta projette de faire un voyage original en rejoignant Saigon par voie terrestre (excepté Canada-Europe) en 2013 avec un énorme “Monster truck” comme on n’en voit que dans ces immenses contrées.

Au départ, son projet se présente comme un challenge personnel, mais celui-ci a évolué au fur et à mesure de nos contacts. Il se propose maintenant de transporter du matériel à offrir aux enfants des centres d’accueil que nous soutenons dans la région de Saigon et de collecter des fonds dans les différents pays à traverser pour nous aider à financer la construction d’un orphelinat en banlieue d’Ho chi Minh.
Nous sommes en contact avec des associations d’expatriés vietnamiens, bretons et aussi avec d’autres organismes pour des raisons diverses (médiatisation via télévision, préparation de rendez vous avec les internautes).

Nous ne sommes qu’en phase de constitution du projet, prévu d’avoir lieu dans un an environ (départ officiel de Locminé le 21/08/2013). Nous comptons sur l’aide de chacun pour nous mettre en relation avec toutes les personnes susceptibles d’être séduites par une participation à cet événement que l’on peut qualifier d’exceptionnel. Nous pensons à de grandes entreprises qui accepteraient d’apposer leur logo sur l’attelage.

L’itinéraire prévu est : Canada  → VM → Grande Bretagne → France → Italie → Croatie → Bulgarie → Turquie → Iran → Pakistan → Inde → Singapore → Malaisie → Cambodge → Vietnam,  mais elle n’est pas encore définitivement arrêtée. Dans tous les cas un passage en Bretagne s’impose (Locminé, La Gacilly), ainsi que par Paris.

Petit portrait de Yannick

Yannick, alias “Filochard ou Filoche” , né en1956, à Moustoir-Ac en Bretagne. Nationalité : Franco-Canadien, parle Anglais et Français, bases en Espagnol et Allemand, apprend le Russe et l’Arabe. A l’âge de 17 ans, Yannick effectue une préparation militaire parachutiste au camp de Meucon dans le Morbihan puis il effectuera son service militaire au 1er RHP (Rgt de Hussards Parachutistes) à Tarbes. Après cela il prend la route dans le transport frigorifique, puis il créera sa propre entreprise (1986-1992), période pendant laquelle il sillonnera toutes les routes d’Europe. C’est ausi à cette période qu’il sera plus connu sous son pseudo “Filoche”.
En 1999, malgré son âge, il décide de partir pour le Canada où il passe ses permis pour les “gros transports” et devient résident permanent. Il travaille pour la “CRS Express” et traverse 48 Etats Américains. Son goût de l’aventure le guide vers les routes glacées du Nord Canada (Ice roads), il rejoint alors la province d’Alberta et travaille pour la Cie “Rainbow” pendant six mois puis pour “RTL Robinson” en 2004. Il passe alors trois saisons sur ces fameuses “ice roads” entre Yellowknife et les mines de diamants et d’or d Ekati et Diavik. Maintenant Yannick tourne toutes ses pensées vers ce rêve qu’il veut absolument réaliser dans le but de nous aider au financement d’un orphelinat au Vietnam.