A new alms-house in Cn Giuc

 31/08/2013 : Leaving this morning with Abir (Lebanese) and her 2 Spanish friends Mireia and Merixtell, together with Charline for the photography and Ms. Liên to inaugurate a house financed by a friend from Toulouse. The authorities and M. Lê Minh Dung the beneficiary householder thanked the generous donor and the association, his spouse Hong Thuy was in tears, the little Ky Duyen, 11, was very happy to get a “Martin” bike that will spare her the 5 kms by foot to go to school.

Then we went to visit a family consisting of a mother and her 2 children : a 14 years old boy who was in 4th grade and a little 8 years old girl in third year of primary school, this family abandoned by the father survives only with the laborer salary of the mother, lacking of sufficient resources, she could not pay the scholarship fees for her children. At last, to add insult to the injury, their house made out of bamboos and palms just collapsed, they are hosted by a sister of the mother, who is in a precarious situation herself, this sister has a 11 years old boy and looks after her other bedridden sister victim of the orange agent (dioxin). Marc used, the same night, the generosity of few friends to rebuild the house of this stricken family, desired amount 1.400€, the next morning a generous donor, still from Toulouse had answered the call…

House before collapse

Thanks

1st Row L to R : Mai, Jonatha, Thuy – 2ndRow : Lan, Xuan, J-Pierre, Sophia, Marc, Mmes Huong and Bao Chan
Photo : Charline Saudemon

 30/08/2013 : At 6:00 PM, a part of the volunteers of the association met in a café in downtown Saigon to thank the students and professors of the Unversity of Pedagogy for their help on the different oral and written translations carried out for the benefit of the association “The Children of The Dragon” (LEDD).

We welcomed this cordial cooperation between this University and the association and we transmitted our wish to maintain it to Ms Hà Thị Mai Hương and Bao Chan in charge of the training and the organization of student internships.

 

A long day

 

22/08/2013 : Leaving at 04:00 AM to assist an important meeting with various representations of Sóc Trăng Province (2 representatives of Phòng Ngoại vụ = Bureau of Ministry of Foreign Affairs, 2 representatives of Sở Kế Hoạch đầu tư = Ministry of Planning and Investment, 1 representative of the Ministry of Agriculture and 2 representatives of the Popular Committee of Huyện Mỹ Tú district, the Chief of the Popular Committee and his assistant for the hamlets of Bo-Na and Hau Boi 3 representatives of the local police, the operators for the spirulina, 3 representatives of the NGO “The Children of the Dragon”) and few other listeners (total present people 26).

This meeting has been settled following the difficulties to communicate with a local officer, the final aim of the meeting being to renew or not our work permit in this Province. This meeting lasted more than 2 hours in a relaxed atmosphere to result in the renewal of our permit. All the delegation appreciated the visit of the exploitation of Bo Na and everyone left with a small bag of spirulina (26 p.)…

 

After a frugal meal at Father Day’s we went to visit Mr Phong’s family whose new house is almost done, his children seemed very happy to have a big room and a small field to play in, until then they lived in a boat hull covered with a roof made of palms.

This house has been built thanks to the volition of a scout team and guides of France

in mission in Vietnam

02/08/2013 : A team of scouts and guides of France from Abbeville (Sophie, Pauline, Benoît and Clément) went to help on the construction site of a charity house for a very poor family of the Bo-Na village which they funded. They arrived the 1st and the 2nd in the morning at 5:00 AM we took them hard at work, they have been welcomed to the Bo-Na village, at the heart of the Mekong, in the seasonable rainy weather of Vietnam…

Une nouvelle maison de charité à Cần Giuộc

 31/08/2013 : Départ ce matin avec Abir (libanaise) et ses 2 amies espagnoles Mireia et Merixtell, ainsi que Charline pour la photographie et Mme Liên pour inaugurer une maison financée par un ami toulousain. Les autorités et Mr Lê Minh Dung chef de famille bénéficiaire ont remercié le généreux donateur et l’association, son épouse Hong Thuy était au bord des larmes, la petite Ky Duyen 11 ans a été très heureuse de recevoir un vélo “Martin” qui lui épargnera les 5 kms à pied pour aller à l’école.

Nous sommes ensuite allés rendre visite à une famille composée d’une mère et de ses 2 enfants : un garçon de 14 ans qui était en classe de 4ème et une petite fille de 8 ans en CE2, cette famille abandonnée par le père ne survie qu’avec le salaire d’ouvrière de la maman, faute de suffisamment de ressources, elle n’a pas pu payer les frais de rentrée de scolaire aux enfants. Enfin, comble de malheur leur maison de bambou et de palmes vient de s’effondrer, ils sont hébergés chez une sœur de la mère, elle-même en situation précaire, cette sœur a un garçon de 11 ans et garde un autre sœur grabataire victime de l’agent orange (dioxine). Marc a fait appel le soir même à la générosité de quelques amis pour reconstruire la maison de cette famille sinistrée, montant souhaité 1.400€ , le lendemain matin un généreux donateur, toujours de Toulouse avait répondu à cet appel…

Maison avant effondrement

 

Remerciements

1°Rang Gche à Dte : Mai, Jonatha, Thuy – 2°Rg : Lan, Xuan, J-Pierre, Sophia, Marc, Mmes Huong et Bao Chan
Photo : Charline Saudemon

 30/08/2013 : A 18hres, une partie des bénévoles de l’association s’est réunie dans un café du centre ville de Saigon pour remercier les étudiants et professeurs de l’Université de Pédagogie de leur aide pour les différentes traductions orales et écrites effectuées au bénéfice de l’association “Les Enfants Du Dragon” (LEDD).

Nous nous sommes félicités de cette cordiale coopération entre cette Université et l’association et nous avons transmis notre souhait de la maintenir à Mmes Hà Thị Mai Hương et Bao Chan responsables de la formation et de l’organisation des stages étudiants.

 

Une longue journée

 

22/08/2013 : Départ à 04:00 ce matin pour assister à une réunion importante avec diverses représentations de la Province de Sóc Trăng (2 représentants de Phòng Ngoại vụ = Bureau du Ministère des Affaires Etrangères, 2 représentants de Sở Kế Hoạch đầu tư = Ministère de la Planification et de l’investissement, 1 Représentant du Ministère de l’Agriculture et 2 représentants du Comité Populaire du district de Huyện Mỹ Tú, le Chef du Comité Populaire et l’ adjoint pour les hameaux de Bo-Na et Hau Boi 3 représentants de la police locale, les exploitants pour la spiruline, 3 représentants de l’ONG “Les enfants du dragon) et quelques autres auditeurs (total des présents 26).

Cette réunion a été décidée suite aux difficultés de communication à établir avec un fonctionnaire local, le but final de la réunion étant de reconduire ou non notre permis de travail dans cette Province. Cette réunion a duré plus de 2 heures dans un climat détendu pour aboutir au renouvellement de notre permis. Toute la délégation a apprécié la visite de l’exploitation de Bo Na et chacun est reparti avec un sachet de spiruline (26 p.)

 

Après un frugal repas chez le Père Day nous sommes passés rendre visite à la famille de Mr Phong dont la nouvelle maison est presque finie, ses enfants semblaient très heureux d’avoir une grande pièce et un petit terrain pour jouer, jusqu’alors ils habitaient dans la coque d’un bateau recouverte d’un toit de palmes.

Cette maison a été construite grâce à la volonté d’une 

 équipe des scouts et guides de France en mission au Vietnam

 

02/08/2013 : Une équipe de scouts et guides de France d’Abbeville (Sophie, Pauline, Benoît et Clément) est venue aider au chantier de construction d’une maison de charité pour une famille très pauvre du village de Bo-Na qu’ils ont financée. Ils sont arrivés le 1er et le 2 matin à 05hres nous les avons emmenés à pied d’œuvre, ils ont été accueillis au village de Bo-Na, au cœur du Mékong, par un temps de saison des pluies au Vietnam…