After three years of professional activity, two young engineers decided to take a break of one year in their career to make a tour around the world (about 17 countries visited) and to give some their time to the poorest. Initially we contacted the foundation of their large company that unfortunately could not reply positively to our request for support for a project we submitted. Nevertheless, their employer did not hesitate to finance this mission for them. We thank him very much.

It is in that way, that these volonteers, coming from China, arrived in the beginning of January 2011 to start their ‘humanitarian mission’ in the small village of Bô-Na, province de Sóc Trăng. They met Thérèse and her daughter Carole, who came visiting the spiruline farm near this site and wished to participate in the construction activities. Young French-speaking students from Châu Văn Liêm Lyceum of Cần Thơ assisted in translating on site. A very nice team united for a common project and excited to share this moment in life with this family composed of three children (taking care of a sick grandfather) and the neighbouring population.

In the meantime a second house has been built in Sóc Trăng province for Mrs Nguyen Thi Thang, a widow of 55 years old and mother of two children (14 and 21 years). She is very happy to have a real roof, because during the rainy season water came through the roof. Mrs Thi Thang lives of small jobs, amongst which sewing for the neighbours.

Après trois ans d’activité professionnelle, deux jeunes ingénieurs ont décidé de faire une pause d’un an dans leur carrière afin de faire un tour du monde  (environ 17 pays visités) et de donner de leur temps au profit des plus démunis. Initialement nous avons contacté la fondation de leur grande entreprise qui n’avait malheureusement pas pu répondre favorablement à la demande de soutien de projet que nous leur avions soumise. Toutefois leur employeur n’a pas hésité à leur financer ce chantier. Nous lui adressons nos plus vifs et chaleureux remerciements.

C’est ainsi que venant de Chine ces deux volontaires sont arrivés début janvier 2011 pour commencer leur “mission humanitaire” dans le petit village de Bô-Na, province de Sóc Trăng. Ils ont pu faire connaissance de Thérèse et de sa fille Carole venues visiter la ferme de spiruline proche de ce site et ont souhaité participer aux travaux de construction. De jeunes étudiantes francophones du lycée Châu Văn Liêm de Cần Thơ ont apporté leur aide pour la traduction sur le chantier. Une bien belle équipe soudée autour d’un projet devenu commun et ravie de partager ce moment de vie avec cette famille de trois enfants (grand-père malade à charge) et la sympathique population environnante.

Une deuxième maison a été construite dans la province de Soc Trang pour Mme Thi Thang Nguyen, une veuve de 55 ans et mère de deux enfants (14 et 21 ans). Elle est très heureuse d’avoir un vrai toit, parce que pendant la saison des pluies, l’eau est venue à travers le toit. Mme Thi Thang vit de petits boulots, parmi lesquels de couture pour les voisins.