Here you can read the testimonials of the foster dads and moms of the fostered children.

To foster a child at the other end of the world is above all a great affair of the heart and a choice that needs to be well considered

Paulo et Josiane - parrains

My grandfather has lived in Vietnam a large part of his life and he was fluent in Vietnamese. He married an Indochinese, my grandmother originally from Hue. We are foster parents since October 2011 of a little girl, Quynh Nhur. She will be nine years at the end of the year. Since that moment no day goes by without thinking about her. Solidarity must help those who need it most. Our action towards her is to help her within our possibilities to start her life well and to provide in her needs for training, education and her well-being. Additionally we will try to bring her the maximum of human warmth and love even though the distance and the language barrier are major obstacles. What a wonderful moments to see each other and talk with each other directly. When we communicate with our foster daughter, it is very difficult for us to think about the other children who are not so lucky to have a foster dad or mom. To foster a child at the other end of the world is above all a great affair of the heart and a choice that needs to be well considered, because you commit yourself vis-à-vis him or her to support him or her morally and to provide him or her a quality education.

Paulo et Josiane

I returned home from Vietnam enriched by the intense emotions experienced in the orphanage

Evelyne

When they asked me if I prefered to foster a boy or a girl, I immediately thought of my grandson, whose mother is South-American and whose father is and that with a little Vietnamese I saw the three continents approaching each other. And finally small Buom became my foster daughter. She is 8 years old and when I saw her eyes on a photo, I was moved. I met her spring 2012 during my first (because there will be others ...) trip to Vietnam. I immediately recognised her among the other children in the orphanage. She was so cute with her beautiful hair just cut. She seemed shy and naughty at the same time. We communicated with our eyes: the smile, the sweetness. You should of course not expect outpourings but the eyes speak for themselves. Buom was very interested in the contents of my suitcase from which emerged clothing, gifts she was eager to show to her little friends and all started to play immediately. This is how they changed the doll, gave her a bottle.
I came home from Vietnam with beautiful images of this wonderful country, but especially enriched by the intense emotions experienced at the orphanage during the encounter with Buom and the other children. Thanks to Tam I have been able to communicate with them via Skype. Buom knows thanks to this moment on Skype that I think about her, and that keeps, extends the moment I spent with her in March! It is with time and patience that bonds are created and it is good to show that we are there as a foster mom or dad for birthdays and Vietnamese holidays.

Evelyne

Foster parenthood means to commit yourself for a long time

tamleduy

Being a sponsor means committing for a long time, if the child is young, to accompany and assist him or her on the long road of life, this life that has been difficult for some children since the day they were born. After several visits to orphanages Marc, I could see what he did for these children and we decided to become foster parents. The most moving moment is the moment that we choose to become foster mom and dad. We do not have kids but I guess it's like a birth (except that we are not parents), you cannot choose, we accept the child as it is. It is difficult to become foster mom and dad. You help a child but they cannot choose us. This is all a long apprenticeship to tame the child. As Saint-Exupéry said in the Little Prince "You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed." Foster a child to help him or her grow up and have a decent education is a good thing. But all this action must remain within certain limits, as the children we help are under the responsibility of the house they live in. I think this is a big thing for the children to know that in a distant country there are people with a big heart who think about them. It is also good to remember that these children do not "belong" to us. These children are not our children and they are not under our care. When we visit the houses where children live we are guests to come and visit these children and we have no right regarding neither the caring nor the way these children are cared for and raised. Even if sometimes this may be contrary to what we would like or want. As I am an overseas Vietnamese (Viet Kieu) it makes sense to choose Vietnam. Since forever Vietnam is in my flesh and my heart. Fostering is good because you leave the child in his or her natural environment, the world he or she knows. I have seen that the adaptation and integration in another life, another culture, another world is not easy. That is why I have always been against adoption, to uproot a child from his own land, his or her culture, creates unthinkable physical and mental suffering. It takes years to find your own culture again, if you are lucky and if you have a strong personality.

Tam et Anne

We became foster parents according our possibilities of a large number of children

Son et Marine

I am Son and I am of Vietnamese origin. With Marine, my partner, we decided to engage in a cultural Franco-Vietnamese association in Indre and Loire. Vietnamese colours, for our two children, then for all those interested in the Vietnamese culture living near Tours. We support the education of a child since December 2010. We wanted to help according to our possibilities, a child of Vietnam but also a humanitarian association that could act in the field and supervise the activities daily as does Marc de Muynck very efficiently. I suppose the term foster parent home has not the same meaning for everyone. We, we want to encourage our foster son to continue his education so that he can develop according his capabilities. And we wanted to allow our children too to have a relationship with a brother in Vietnam. We chose a boy because we have two sons. We met him in July 2011. It was a moment of joy and moving at the same time, to see him drawing with his friends and our children. Then see the other children come to us and have them guess in Vietnamese the coloured animals! We were happy to meet our foster son, but even more so to know that he was in a good environment and that somehow, we become foster parents according our means of a large number of children. For now we just are happy to follow the news of the orphanage via the mails of the association. We expect perhaps wrongly that our eldest boy of 4 year begins to write him in Vietnamese or send him drawings for some exchange.

Son et Marine

We have the intention to come back as soon as possible

p&f

My name is Patrick and my wife is called Francine. We are originally from the Ardennes, but we live in the Isère for 30 years now. I am retired for almost 2 years, and we joined the association about 1 year ago. I wanted to help people in need, it is for that reason that I try to contribute in a modest way to relieve and improve the life of a young Vietnamese. I was always attracted by Asian countries. I found the Children of the Dragon "by chance" on the internet. I've seen what they already accomplished and that impressed me. Since April 2011 we are fostering a girl, Anh, we visited in April. It was a very emotional moment, but the visit was too short, just a few hours. We intend to return as soon as possible. We communicate via emails, postcards sent to the headquarters of the association in Quarouble and via skype. It is sometimes very frustrating, because we cannot communicate directly with our foster daughter and since we do not speak Vietnamese a real communication is not really possible.

Patrick et Francine

I am happy to be a foster mom and I hope that other teenagers will commit

laura

My name is Laura and I am 15 years old. I am happy to be a foster mom and I hope that other teens will engage with the association. I asked to be foster mom myself of my little Bao of my heart, because I found him adorable on the photo on the website "the Children of Dragon". He is 6 years. I have not been able to see him in his orphanage in Vietnam, but it will happen. I have pictures of Bao in my room and I have sent pictures of me too. We have been able to see each other on Skype with Tam. He is Vietnamese and lives in Switzerland, but often visits Vietnam. To see each other via Skype is awesome and great, even if we do not understand and we are both shy!!! But to see the smiles of our small pieces of heart is really important for the bond that unites us, and tell him that he is part of my family, that we love him and that I'll be at his side long. I already visited Vietnam in 2010. After this trip I became a foster mom. What made me decide to become a foster mom is that I saw myself the misery and families in difficulty in Vietnam when I visited it on foot. And it's important for me to help and bring the affection to another child because I am lucky enough not to miss anything.

Laura

I wanted to give back a bit of the luck I have had in lilfe

aline

It is two years now that I foster a child with the Children of the Dragon. I had thought about it for a long time, because I wanted to give back a little bit of luck I have had in life. I have done it when I had the means, the moment I discovered the association. I'm still learning to be a foster mother because it is still new to me. I try to show her that despite the distance, I think about her and that I accompany her. I sponsor a 10 years old girl I have not met yet, but I have been able to see her and talk with her on Skype. The first question my foster daughter asked me was: "Do you love me?" I did not expect it, especially because it is quite shy in front of the camera. I was really touched. Now, it encourages me to be more demonstrative in my exchanges with her in writing or orally.

Aline

Ici vous pourriez lire les témoignages des parrains et marraines des enfants parrainés.

Parrainer un enfant du bout du monde c'est avant tout une grande affaire de coeur et un choix qui doit être longuement réfléchi

Paulo et Josiane - parrains

Mon grand père a vécu au Vietnam une grande partie de sa vie et il parlait couramment le vietnamien. Il s'est marié avec une Indochinoise, ma grand mère originaire de Hué. Nous sommes parents d'accueil depuis octobre 2011 d'une petite fille, Quynh Nhu. Elle va avoir neuf ans à la fin de l'année. Depuis cette date il ne se passe pas un jour sans penser à elle. La solidarité doit venir en aide à ceux qui en ont le plus besoin. Notre action envers elle est de l'aider de notre mieux à bien démarrer dans la vie et de pourvoir à son instruction, son éducation et son bien être. De plus nous allons nous efforcer de lui apporter le maximum de chaleur humaine et d'amour bien que la distance et la barrière de la langue sont de grands obstacles. Que d'instants merveilleux de se voir et de se parler en direct. Quand nous communiquons avec notre filleule, il nous est très difficile de ne pas penser aux autres enfants qui n'ont pas la chance d'avoir de parrains ou de marraines. Parrainer un enfant du bout du monde c'est avant tout une grande affaire de cœur et un choix qui doit être longuement réfléchi, car on s'engage vis-à-vis de lui ou elle à le ou la soutenir moralement et à lui assurer une éducation de qualité.

Paulo et Josiane

Je suis rentrée du Vietnam enrichie par les émotions intenses vécues à l'orphelinat

Evelyne

Quand on m'a demandé si j'avais une préférence pour parrainer un garçon ou une fille, j'ai tout de suite pensé à mon petit-fils, dont la maman est sud américaine et le papa européen et donc avec un petit Vietnamien je voyais le rapprochement de 3 continents. Et finalement c'est la petite Buom qui est devenue ma filleule. Elle a 8 ans et lorsque j'ai découvert son regard sur une photo, j'ai été émue. Je l'ai rencontrée au printemps 2012 lors de mon premier (car il y en aura d'autres...) voyage au Vietman. Je l'ai immédiatement reconnue au milieu des autres enfants de l'orphelinat. Elle était tellement mignonne avec ses beaux cheveux fraîchement coupés. Elle m'est apparue timide et coquine à la fois. Nous avons communiqué par le regard: le sourire, la douceur. Il ne faut bien sûr pas attendre des effusions mais les yeux en disent long. Buom était très intéressée par le contenu de ma valise d'où sortaient des vêtements, des cadeaux qu'elle s'empressait de montrer à ses petites copines et toutes se sont mises à jouer immédiatement. C'est ainsi qu'elles ont changé la poupée, lui ont donné son biberon.
Je suis rentrée du Vietnam forte de belles images de ce pays merveilleux, mais surtout enrichie par les émotions intenses vécues à l'orphelinat lors de la rencontre avec Buom et les autres enfants. Grâce à Tam j'ai pu communiquer avec eux via Skype. Bươm sait grâce à ce moment sur Skype que je pense à elle et cela entretient, prolonge le moment que j'ai passé avec elle en mars! C'est avec du temps et de la patience que les liens se créent et il est bon de nous manifester en tant que marraine ou parrain pour les anniversaires et les fêtes vietnamiennes.

Evelyne

Un parrainage veut dire s’engager pour longtemps

tamleduy

Etre parrain ou marraine veut dire s’engager pour longtemps, si l’enfant est jeune, pour l’accompagner et l'aider sur le long chemin de la vie, cette vie qui a été difficile pour certains enfants dès la naissance. Suite à plusieurs visites avec Marc à des orphelinats, j’ai pu voir ce qu’il a fait pour ces enfants et nous avons décidé de devenir des parrains. Le moment le plus émouvant est le moment que nous avons choisir de devenir marraine et parrain. Nous n’avons pas d’enfants mais j’imagine que c’est comme une naissance (sauf que nous ne sommes pas parents) on ne choisit pas, on accepte l’enfant telle qu’elle est. C’est difficile de devenir marraine et parrain. On aide un enfant mais eux ils ne peuvent  pas nous choisir. C’est tout un long apprentissage pour apprivoiser l’enfant. Comme disait Saint-Exupéry dans le Petit Prince "Tu deviens responsable pour toujours de ce que tu as apprivoisé." Parrainer un enfant pour l'aider à grandir et avoir une éducation décente est une bonne chose. Mais toute cette action doit rester dans une certaine limite, car les enfants que nous aidons sont sous la responsabilité de la maison ou ils vivent. Je pense que c'est une chose énorme pour les enfants de savoir que dans un pays lointain il y a des gens avec un grand coeur qui pensent à eux. Il est bon aussi de nous rappeler que ces enfants ne nous "appartiennent" pas. Ces enfants ne sont pas nos enfants et ils ne sont pas sous notre administration. Quand nous visitons les maisons où habitent les enfants nous sommes des invités pour venir rendre visite à ces enfants et nous n'avons aucun droit concernant l'administration ni la façon dont ces enfants sont soignés ni élevés. Même si parfois ça pourrait être contraire à ce que nous aimerions ou voudrions. Comme je suis Vietnamien d'outre mer (Viet Kieu) il est logique pour moi de choisir le Vietnam. Depuis toujours le Vietnam est dans ma chair et mon cœur. Le parrainage est bien car on laisse l’enfant dans son milieu naturel, dans son monde depuis toujours. J'ai vu que l’adaptation et l’intégration dans une autre vie, une autre culture, une autre monde n’est pas une chose facile. C’est pourquoi depuis toujours je suis contre l’adoption, arracher un enfant à sa propre terre, à sa propre culture, engendre des souffrances physiques et mentales insoupçonnées. Il faut des années pour retrouver sa propre culture, si on a de la chance et si on a une forte personnalité.

Tam et Anne

Nous sommes devenus les parrains selon nos moyens d'un tas d'enfants

Son et Marine

Je m'appelle Son et je suis d'origine vietnamienne. Avec Marine, ma compagne, nous avons décidé de nous engager dans une association culturelle franco-vietnamienne en Indre et Loire. Couleurs Vietnam, pour nos deux enfants, puis ensuite pour toutes les personnes intéressées par la culture vietnamienne vivant à proximité de Tours. Nous soutenons la scolarité d'un enfant depuis décembre 2010. Nous voulions aider selon nos possibilités, un enfant du Vietnam mais aussi une association humanitaire qui pouvait mener des actions sur le terrain et les superviser au quotidien comme peut le faire avec efficacité Marc de Muynck. Je suppose que le terme de parrain d'accueil n'a pas le même sens pour chacun. Pour notre part, nous souhaitons encourager notre filleul à poursuivre son éducation pour qu'il puisse s'épanouir selon ses qualités. Et nous voulions aussi permettre à nos enfants d'avoir un lien avec un frère du Vietnam. Nous avons choisi un garçon car nous avons deux garçons. Nous l'avons rencontré en juillet 2011. C'était un moment de joie et émouvant en même temps que de le voir dessiner avec ses copains et nos enfants. Ensuite de voir les autres enfants venir à notre rencontre puis les faire deviner en vietnamien les animaux coloriés ! Nous étions heureux de rencontrer notre filleul mais encore plus de savoir qu'il était bien entouré et que quelque part, nous devenions les parrains selon nos moyens d'un tas d'enfants. Pour l'instant nous nous contentons de suivre l'actualité de l'orphelinat par les méls de l'association. Nous attendons peut-être à tort que notre garçon aîné de 4 ans commence à lui écrire en vietnamien ou à lui envoyer des dessins pour une éventuelle correspondance.

Son et Marine

Nous avons l'intention de revenir le plus tôt possible

p&f

Je m'appelle Patrick et mon épouse s'appelle Francine. Nous sommes originaires des Ardennes, mais nous habitons dans l'Isère depuis maintenant 30 ans. Je suis retraité depuis maintenant presque 3 ans, et nous avons rejoint l'association il y a un peu plus d'1 an. J'avais l'intention d'aider des gens nécessiteux, c'est pour cette raison que j'essaie d'apporter ma contribution d'une manière modeste pour soulager et améliorer les conditions de vie d'un jeune vietnamien. J'étais toujours attiré par les pays d'Asie. J'ai trouvé les Enfants du Dragon "par hasard‟ sur internet. J'ai vu les choses déjà réalisées ça m'a impressionné. Depuis avril 2011 nous parrainons une fille, Anh, que nous avons visitée aussi en avril. C'était un moment très émouvant, mais la visite a été trop brève, juste quelques heures. Nous avons l'intention de revenir le plus tôt possible. Nous communiquons via emails, les cartes postales envoyées au siège de l'association à Quarouble et via skype. C'est parfois très frustrant, parce que nous ne pouvons pas communiquer directement avec notre filleule et vu que nous ne parlons pas le vietnamien une communication réelle n'est pas vraiment possible.

Patrick et Francine

Je suis heureuse d'être marraine et j'espère que d'autres ados s'engageront

laura

Je m'appelle Laura et j'ai 15 ans. Je suis heureuse d'être marraine et j'espère que d'autres ados s'engageront avec l'association. J'ai demande personnellement à être marraine de mon petit Bao de cœur, car je l'ai trouvé adorable sur la photo sur le site "les Enfants du Dragon". Il a 6 ans maintenant. Je n'ai pas encore pu lui venir voir à son orphelinat au Vietnam, mais c'est en prévision. J'ai bien sur des photos de Bao dans ma chambre et je lui en ai fait parvenir des photos de moi aussi. Nous avons pu nous voir sur Skype avec Tam. Lui est Vietnamien et vit en Suisse, mais visite souvent le Vietnam. De se voir via Skype est génial et super, même si nous ne pouvons pas nous comprendre et nous sommes timides tous les deux !!! Mais de se voir, de voir les sourires de nos petits bouts de cœur, est vraiment important pour le lien qui nous unit et lui dire qu'il fait partie de ma famille, qu'on l'aime et que je serai à ses côtés longtemps. J'ai déjà visité Vietnam en 2010. Après ce voyage je suis devenu marraine. Ce qui m'a décidé de devenir marraine c'est que j'ai pu voir par moi-même la misère et des familles en difficultés au Vietnam en allant visiter à pied. Et c'est important pour moi de pouvoir aider et apporter de l'affection à un autre enfant car moi j'ai la chance de ne manquer de rien.

Laura

Je voulais redonner un petit peu de la chance que j’ai eue dans la vie

aline

Cela fait environ deux ans que je parraine un enfant avec les Enfants du Dragon. J’y pensais depuis longtemps, car je voulais redonner un petit peu de la chance que j’ai eue dans la vie. Je l’ai fait quand j’en ai eu les moyens, lorsque j’ai découvert l’association. J’apprends encore à être marraine car c’est encore nouveau pour moi. J’essaye de lui montrer que malgré la distance, je pense à elle et je l’accompagne. Je parraine une fille de 10 ans que je n'ai pas encore rencontrée en vrai, mais j’ai eu la chance de la voir et de lui parler sur Skype. La première question que m’a posée ma filleule était la suivante : « Est-ce que tu m’aimes bien ? » Je ne m’y attendais pas, notamment parce qu’elle est assez timide devant la caméra. Ça m’a beaucoup touchée. Désormais, cela m’encourage à être un peu plus démonstrative dans mes échanges écrits ou oraux avec elle.

Aline