Our action in Vietnam started at our friend Marc De Muynck’s initiative. When he retired, he traveled all over Asian countries, always facing misery and especially the situation of abandoned street children, which hurt is soul. Realizing this made him promise to give a lot of himself in humanitarian aid. After traveling all over those countries and doing several quick or episodic actions with non-governmental organizations, he came back to Vietnam in early January 2007 and settled up there. He decided to act by giving priority to urgent aid of the poorest people with the help of humanitarian organizations, relations and friends to whom he asked help for realizing his projects…

That’s why in 2007:

  • In the village of Phu An, province of Dong Nai, in partnership with “Coup de Pouce humanitaire” and “Solidari Terre” – a student association from the école centrale de Lyon: building of 24 “affection houses” in aid of the poorest people in the town; and in the parish, complete development of a computer room with 16 computers for the young people in the village. These projects answer a demand from the beneficiaries and are studied in cooperation with them. They take part in
  • In Ho Chi Minh City, with the support of “BASAID-Novartis”: restoration and ground elevation of a nursery school in his neighborhood that was often inundated, purchasing of small school material and restoration of a Buddhist school’s orphanage in this very disadvantaged neighborhood. A financial aid was granted for restoring and closing the field of a mothers’ home in Long Khanh (Đông Nai).
  • A rather important anonymous donation was received. It was shared between a foster care dedicated to abandoned children and a community in the high plateau.
  • In early November 2008: child sponsoring implementation in orphanages.
  • In 2008, Peter Latzko, a film-maker, contacted him in order to make a documentary film untitled “Les enfants du dragon”.
  • January 2009: 4 new houses, as well as 5 other houses in early February 2009 are built in the village of Phu An with the partnership of “Coup de Pouce humanitaire”.
  • Short-stay tourists, friends or acquaintances punctually and generously brought direct help: various donations of medicines, school stationary, toys… .
  • Numerous volunteers came here and there to help out: giving care, running school tutoring activities, leisure and games, taking part in different tasks and daily work, in all those “affection homes” and orphanages.
  • In February 2009, the idea to create an association with a group of friends was born.

That was the actions’ history. Now begins the real story of the association “LES ENFANTS DU DRAGON”. Let’s hope it is successful and has a long life!

Notre action au Vietnam a débuté à l’initiative de Marc De Muynck, à l’heure de la retraite il a parcouru quelques pays d’Asie toujours confronté à la misère et plus particulièrement à la situation des enfants des rues abandonnés ce qui l’a profondément touché. Suite à cette prise de conscience, il s’engage à donner de sa personne dans l’humanitaire. De ces pays parcourus et après quelques furtives ou épisodiques actions avec des organisations non-gouvernementales, il revient au Vietnam début janvier 2007 où il s’installe, il décide d’agir, privilégiant l’aide dans l’urgence des pauvres parmi les plus pauvres en s’assurant du concours de plusieurs associations à caractère humanitaire, de relations et d’amis auxquels il soumet ses projets pour l’aider à les réaliser.

C’est ainsi que depuis janvier 2007 :

  • Au village de Phú An, province de Đồng Nai avec le partenariat de “Coup de Pouce humanitaire” et de “Solidari-Terre” – association d’élèves de l’école centrale de Lyon : construction de 24 “maisons d’affection” au profit des plus pauvres de la commune et de la paroisse, aménagement complet d’une salle informatique à 16 postes pour les jeunes gens du village. Ces projets répondent à une demande des bénéficiaires et sont étudiés en concertation avec eux, ils participent eux-mêmes aux travaux
  • A Hồ Chí Minh avec le soutien de “BASAID-Novartis” : rénovation et élévation du sol d’une école maternelle de son quartier qui était souvent inondée, achats de petits matériels scolaires et rénovation de l’école d’un petit orphelinat bouddhiste de ce même quartier très défavorisé. Une aide financière a été accordée pour la rénovation et la clôture du terrain d’un foyer maternel à Long Khanh (Đông Nai).
  • Réception d’un don anonyme assez important, réparti entre un foyer d’accueil pour enfants abandonnés et une communauté des hauts plateaux.
  • Début novembre 2008 : mise en place du parrainage d’enfants dans des orphelinats.
  • En 2008, Peter Latzko, un réalisateur contacte Marc de Muynck pour faire un film documentaire intitulé “les enfants du dragon”.
  • Janvier 2009 : quatre nouvelles maisons et début février 2009 cinq autres maisons sont construites dans le village de Phu An avec le partenariat de “Coup de Pouce humanitaire”.
  • Des touristes de passage, des amis ou connaissances ont apporté ponctuellement et généreusement leur aide en direct, dons divers de médicaments, fournitures scolaires, de jouets.
  • De nombreux volontaires sont venus ici et là apporter leur aide : dispensant des soins, animant des activités de soutien scolaire, de loisirs et de jeux, participant aux travaux divers et taches quotidiennes de tous ces “foyers d’affection” et orphelinats.
  • En février 2009 naîtra l’idée de créer une association avec un groupe d’amis.

Voici donc pour l’historique des actions, maintenant commence la véritable histoire de l’association “LES ENFANTS DU DRAGON”, nous lui souhaitons succès et longue vie !