Customs and traditions
There are so many customs and traditions that it is impossible to mention them all and you will find only some here to get an impression.

Festivals

Every region and religion has its own festivals and there are also various festivals celebrated nation-wide. These two most important national festivals.

The festival of Tết Nguyên đán
This feast is more commonly known by its shortened name of Tết (or Tết Cả) means the feast of the first morning of the year. It is similar to the occidental New Year, but with the lag of a “lunar-solar” calendar. It takes place from the end of January to the third week of February of the solar calendar and signals the beginning of the new lunar year and the arrival of spring. Every year is named after one of the twelve animals in the Vietnamese zodiac. Tết rituals start a few days before New Year’s day. This is the most celebrated traditional feast in Viêt Nam. Besides firecrackers and gifts, food, especially sticky rice cakes filled with pork and beans (bánh chung) and candied fruit or vegetables, is prepared for this occasion. This will be offered to relatives. The decoration of the house is important: it is adorned with red and gold, symbols of good luck, and a branch of a plum tree, a peach tree or an apricot tree which will prevent bad genii from entering. On Tết’s eve and the day itself, you can hear the deafening sound of the firecrackers exploding in order to scare off demons, which cannot bear noise or light. New Year’s day is drenched with symbols, as all actions and events occurring that day will have consequences in the new year. The first person to set foot in the house is supposed to bring happiness. Children have new clothes. They are given new bills (the eldery too are given new bills, to bring luck). Streets are lively, people pay their family and friends a visit, everybody is happy.

The festival of Tết Trung thu
This is the mid-autumn festival and the festival for the Vietnamese children. This festival is celebrated on the15th day of the 8th lunar month. Originally this was agricultural and astrological festival. It is celebrated for a long time, in various rice-growing Asian countries. The evening of this day is always full moon and the moon is the roundest and brightest of the year, which symbolizes the unity of the family and gathering. It is the birthday of the God of the Ground, the “official divinity” and the farmers take the opportunity to ask for his blessing for the coming year. Nowadays, the mid-autumn festival has become mainly a festival for the children, but the adults participate too in the festivities. When the festival nears, the whole family prepares cakes and toys. The women show their skills making banh deo (cakes of glutinous rice in the form of a lunar disk) and banh nuong (cakes of sweet pastry, baked in the oven filled in various ways with beans and dates). The girls sculpture animals from various fruits like star fruit, pomelos, kakis and bananas. The men construct ingenious toys like den keo quan (lanterns with Chinese shadows), den ong sao (lanterns in the form of a star) and masks in the form of animals. That evening, masked children carrying latners and toys, go around the du mam co trung thu (table of food), placed in the center of the court of the house. They sing and make a lantern parade and participate in the unicorn dances on the sound of tambourins. In the big Vietnamese cities the trung thu is the possibility to organize toy fairs, artistic performances for children and charity events in favour of the children of needy families.

Clothes
Ao Dai
 Men and women wear western cloths or modern clothes most of the time. In the old days men and women used to wear ao dai (long dress). Nowadays, the traditional dress of the Vietnamese is not the same as in the past. The ao dai, dating from the period of lord Nguyen Phuc Khoat, has been adapted and improved. It is the  preferred dress of the Vietnamese women for important events. The traditional dress now consists of an adjusted tunic whose two parts split at the waist and fall till mid-calf. It is worn with silk trousers, while the ao dai itself can be made of various materials. The ao dai covers the whole body while subtly revealing the graceful silhouette of the Vietnamese women.

Conical hat (nón lá)
Among conical hats the Vietnamese hat has the most original geometric image as it forms a perfect right circular cone. Nón lá are notable for their romantic and timelessly crafted adornments. Special conical hats in Vietnam contain colourful hand-stitch depictions or words while the Hue varieties are famous for their nón bài thơ (literally: poem conical hats). These contain random poetic verses and Chinese characters that can be revealed when the hat is directed above one’s head in the sunlight.

The meal
Ingredients
The main ingredient of the Vietnamese cuisine is nước mắm, a sauce of in salt fermented anchovies or different kind of fish. Rice is of course also an essential component of the Vietnamese cuisine. There are different types of rice, normal and sticky. Normal cooked rice is used to accompany the meals. Crushed, it is transformed in flat cakes used in chả giò (fried spring rolls). As rice powder it is used as flower to make pancakes, pastries or pasta. Rice can be even transformed in alcohol. Vietnamese culinary art also uses a large variety of aromatic herbs like coriander, basil, mint or lemongrass. Vietnamese dishes contain in general many vegetables, preferably crunchy and tasty rather than boiled in water and softened. Vegetables are in general fried, seasoned with garlic or ginger. You find less meat than fish or crustaceans. There are two kinds of pasta: those made of rice (called according to their size: bún, hủ tiếu) and those made of wheat (mi). The use of either one depends on the dish. Under the influence of Indian and France, meat and fish are often cooked by vapour or the kho technique (slow cooking with salt, nước mắm, carmalised sugar). Vietnamese cuisine reflects the cultural and ethnic diversity of the country. Therefore you should say several Vietnamese cuisines. There are more than 500 national dishes in Vietnam. There are numerous exotic fruits to enhance the meal, either for dessert or in the dishes themselves: khaki, jojoba, dragon fruit, star fruit, longans, pineapples, mangosteens, sapodilles, custard apples, rambutans, rose apples, jackfruits, passion fruits. Finally you will find bread, baguette, as a souvenir of the French time.

Regional differences
The northern cuisine is the oldest, it consists of soups, stews and grilled meats and is very refined. The central cuisine is on one side inspired by the Cham and the imperial court, it is almost a separate cuisine and distinguishes itself by an important use of chillies, making it sometimes difficult to eat, even for the other Vietnamese. Southern cuisine is inspired by the northern, but with southern ingredients. It is sweeter and uses more coconut milk. Curry dishes are very popular in this region. The western order does not exist as there are no entries, main dishes or deserts; a number of dishes is put on the table at the same time. However, Vietnamese like sweet. They can eat c (sweet dessert soup or pudding) or sinh tố (fruitshake or smoothie) at any time of the day. The chè can be served either hot or cold and are often prepared with one or a number of varieties of beans and/or glutinous rice, cooked in water and sweetened with sugar. Other ingredients may include tapioca starch, salt, lotus seeds, bananas and pandan leaf extract. The sinh tố is made of different kind of fruits or even what we would call vegetables, like carrots, tomatoes, avocados blended together with sweetened milk, normal milk and ice.

The art of eating
During a Vietnamese meal, all dishes are put in the middle of the table, everyone takes to his or her linking. A large number of condiments are also present: spicey sauce, soja sauce, perhaps a small bowl with fresh chillies and of course the famous nuoc mam. The bowl and the chopsticks are obviously the essential elements of a typical meal. Pay attention when you eat with chopsticks, there are things you do not do. The most important is this one: do not put your chopsticks vertically in your bowl. By doing so your remind people of incense sticks which are connected with the dead.

Religions
The most wide-spread religion in Vietnam is Mahayana Buddhism. The Catholic minority (4.5 million believers) remains important. Besides Buddhism, there are other cults, such as Caodaism (from Cao Dai meaning “high palace” in Vietnamese). Founded in 1920 by Ngô Van Chieu, it was very powerful in the fifties. It draws its inspiration from Taoism, Buddhism, Confucianism and Christianism. Confucianism, Taoism and other Chinese religions are regressing. Descendants from the Chams (around 40,000 people) are Hindu or Moslim, whereas ethnic minorities practice animist cults. In Vietnam, the ancestors’ cult, which is the ritual expression of filial piety, is sometimes considered as a religion in itself. It is based on the thought that the soul of a dead person survives after his or her death and protects his or her descendants. A soul without any descendant is therefore doomed to eternal wandering.

Be careful! Vietnam has the power of seduction that will make you want to visit it. If so, be welcome.

Les coutumes et traditions
Il y a tellement de coutumes et traditions, qu´il est impossible de les mentionner tous et vous trouverez ici seulement quelques pour obtenir une impression.

Festivals
Chaque région et religion a sa propre fête et il y a aussi plusieurs fêtes qu’on célèbre dans tout le pays. Ci-dessous les deux plus importantes.

La Fete du Tết Nguyên đán
Cette fête est plus généralement connue sous le nom abrégé de Tết (ou Tết Cả), signifie la fête du premier matin de l’année. Il s’agit d’une fête comparable à celle du nouvel an occidental mais avec le décalage d’un calendrier « luni-solaire » ; cela correspond à la période qui s’étale de la fin janvier à la troisième semaine de février du calendrier solaire et marque le début de la nouvelle année lunaire et l’avènement du printemps. Chaque année porte le nom de l’un des douze animaux de l’astrologie vietnamienne. Les rites du Tết commencent quelques jours avant le jour de l’An. C’est la fête traditionnelle la plus célébrée au Viêt Nam. Au-delà des pétards, des cadeaux, de la nourriture, notamment des gâteaux de riz gluant farcis de viande de porc et de haricots (bánh chung) ainsi que des fruits ou légumes confits sont préparés à cette occasion. Ils seront offerts aux proches.
La décoration de l’habitat tient une place importante : on le revêt d’or et de rouge, symboles de porte-bonheur et d’une branche de prunier, de pêcher ou d’abricotier en fleurs, qui empêchera l’entrée de génies malfaisants. La veille et le jour du Têt, retentit le vacarme assourdissant de l’explosion de pétards qui font fuir ainsi les démons qui ne supportent ni le bruit, ni la lumière. Le jour de l’An est empreint d’une grande symbolique, car tous les actes et événements se produisant ce jour-là auront des répercussions pendant la nouvelle année. La première personne qui franchit le seuil de la maison est censée apporter le bonheur. Les enfants ont de nouveaux habits. On leur donne des billets de monnaie tout neufs (on donne aussi des billets aux aînés pour porter chance). Les rues sont animées, Les gens rendent visite à leurs proches et à leurs amis, tout le monde est heureux.

La Fete de Tết Trung thu
C’est la fête de la mi-automne et la fête des enfants vietnamiens: On célèbre cette fête 15ème jour du 8ème mois lunaire. A l’origine c’était une fête agricole et astrologique. Elle est célébrée depuis longtemps, dans plusieurs pays rizicoles d’Asie. Le soir de ce jour qui est toujours une nuit de pleine lune. Ce jour-là, la lune est la plus ronde et la plus lumineuse de l’année, ce qui symbolise l’unité de la famille et le rassemblement. C’est l’anniversaire du Dieu du Sol, le « fonctionnaire divin » local, et les paysans en profitent pour solliciter sa bienveillance pour l’année à venir. De nos jours, la fête de la mi-automne est devenue essentiellement la fête des enfants, mais les adultes participent aussi aux festivités. A l’approche de la fête, toute la famille prépare des gâteaux et des jouets. Les femmes montrent leur savoir-faire en préparant des banh deo (pains de riz gluant farcis en forme de disque lunaire) et des banh nuong (gâteaux à pâte sucrée cuits au four diversement farcis avec des haricots, des dattes). Les filles sculptent des animaux à partir de fruits comme les caramboles, les pamplemousses, les kakis et les bananes. Les hommes fabriquent des jouets ingénieux comme des den keo quan (lanternes aux ombres chinoises), des den ong sao (lanternes en forme d’étoile), et des masques en forme d’animaux. Ce soir-là, les enfants masqués portant des lanternes et des jouets font le tour du mam co trung thu (table des victuailles), placé au milieu de la cour de la maison. Ils chantent et font une parade de lanternes et participent aux danses à la licorne aux sons des tambourins. Dans les grandes villes du Vietnam, le trung thu est l’occasion d’organiser des foires de jouets, des spectacles artistiques pour les enfants et des activités de charité en faveur des enfants des familles en difficulté.

Vêtements
Ao Dai
Les hommes et femmes portent des vêtements à l’occidentale ou vêtements moderne à la vietnamienne. Autrefois homes et femmes portaient ao dai (longue robe). De nos jours, le costume traditionnel des Vietnamiens n’est plus le même. L’ao dai, qui date de la période du seigneur Nguyen Phuc Khoat, a été adapté et perfectionné. C’est le costume préféré des Vietnamiennes pour les grandes occasions. La robe traditionnelle se présente aujourd’hui comme une tunique ajustée, dont les deux pans se séparent à la taille et tombent à mi-mollet. Elle est portée avec des pantalons en soie, tandis que l’ao dai elle-même peut être fait des matériaux différents. L’ao dai couvre le corps tout en révélant subtilement la silhouette gracieuse des Vietnamiennes.

Chapeau de paille (nón lá)
Entres les chapeaux coniques, le nón lá d´origine vietnamienne a l´image géométrique le plus original comme il constitue un cône circulaire. Les nón lá sont fameux à cause de leurs parures romantiques et intemporelles. Des chapeaux coniques spéciaux contiennent des représentations ou des mots colorées, tandis que les variétés Hue sont célèbres pour leur Nón bài thơ (littéralement : chapeaux coniques poème). Ceux-ci contiennent aléatoires versets poétiques et caractères chinois qui peuvent être révélés quand le chapeau est indiqué au-dessus la tête dans la lumière du soleil.

Le repas
Ingrédients
Le condiment principal de la cuisine vietnamienne est le nước mắm, une sauce d’anchois ou de différents poissons fermentée dans du sel. Le riz est bien sûr une composante essentielle de la cuisine vietnamienne. Il y différent types de riz, normal et collant. Riz normal cuit on l’utilise pour accompagner le repas. Écrasé, il est transformé en galettes, utilisées dans les chả giò (nem). Réduit en poudre, il est utilisé en tant que farine pour faire des crêpes, des gâteaux ou des pâtes. Le riz peut être même transformé en alcool. L’art culinaire vietnamien utilise également une grande variété d’herbes aromatiques comme le coriandre, le basilic, la menthe ou la citronnelle. Les plats vietnamiens sont généralement riches en légumes, préférés croquants et savoureux, plutôt que bouillis dans l’eau et ramollis. Les légumes sont généralement sautés, assaisonnés avec de l’ail ou du gingembre. On trouve moins de viande dans la cuisine vietnamienne que de poissons ou de crustacés. On distinguera deux sortes de pâtes: celles à base de riz (appelées selon la taille bún, hủ tiếu), et celles à base de blé (mì). L’utilisation de l’une ou de l’autre varie en fonction du plat. Ayant subi l’influence de l’Inde et de la France, les viandes et poissons sont souvent cuits à la vapeur ou selon la technique du kho (cuisson lente avec sel, nước mắm, sucre caramélisé). La cuisine vietnamienne reflète la diversité culturelle et ethnique du pays. À ce titre on devrait plus parler de cuisines vietnamiennes. Il existe au Vietnam près de 500 plats nationaux. Il existe de nombreux fruits exotiques qui viennent agrémenter les repas, soit pour les desserts, soit en plats eux-mêmes : khaki, jujube, dragon vert, carambole, longans, ananas, mangoustans, sapotilles, corrosoles, rambutans, pommes d’amour, jacquiers, fruits de la passion. Finalement on trouve du pain, baguette, comme un souvenir du temps français.

Les différences régionaux
La cuisine du nord est la plus ancienne, elle fait très largement appel aux soupes, plats mijotés et aux grillades et est très raffinée. La cuisine du centre est inspiré à la fois par les Cham et de la cour impériale, elle est presque à part et se distingue par une utilisation importante des piments, la rendant parfois difficile à manger même aux autres Vietnamiens. Finalement la cuisine du sud est inspirée du nord, mais avec des ingrédients du sud. Elle est plus sucrée et on utilise plus souvent le lait de coco. Les curries sont très populaire dans cette région. L’organisation à l’occidentale n’existe pas : pas d’entrée, plat de résistance, dessert, etc., une multitude de plats offerts en même temps sur la même table. Néanmoins, les Vietnamiens aiment sucré. Ils peuvent manger chè (soupe de dessert sucré ou le pudding) ou sinh tố (smoothie) à n’importe quel moment de la journée. La chè peut être servi chaud ou froid et est souvent préparée avec une ou un certain nombre de variétés de haricots et/ou riz glutineux, cuits à l’eau et édulcoré avec du sucre. D’autres ingrédients peuvent inclure l’amidon de tapioca, sel, graines de lotus, des bananes et extrait de feuilles de pandanus. Le sinh tố est fait de différents types de fruits ou même avec ce que nous appelons des légumes, comme les carottes, les tomates, les avocats mélangés avec du lait sucré, le lait normal et de la glace.

L’art de manger
Lors d’un repas vietnamien, tous les plats sont disposés au milieu de la table, chacun s’y sert à sa guise. Un grand nombre de condiments sont également présents : sauce piquante, sauce de soja, éventuellement un petit bol de piment frais et le fameux nước mắm. Le bol et les baguettes sont évidemment les éléments indispensables d’un repas typique. Faites attention en mangeant avec des baguettes, il y a des choses qu’on ne fait pas. Le plus important et celle-ci: ne placez jamais vos baguettes vers le haut dans votre bol. En plaçant vos bâtons en position verticale dans votre bol vous rappellera les gens aux bâtons d’encens qui connote la mort.

Les religions
La religion la plus répandue au Vietnam est le bouddhisme mahayana. La minorité catholique (4,5 millions de fidèles) demeure importante. Parallèlement au bouddhisme, il existe d’autres cultes tels que le caodaïsme (de Cao Dai, «palais suprême» en vietnamien), fondé en 1920 par Ngô Van Chieu, il a été très puissant dans les années cinquante. Il s’inspire à la fois du taoïsme, du bouddhisme, du confucianisme et du christianisme. Le confucianisme, le taoïsme et les autres religions chinoises sont en régression. Les descendants des Chams (environ 40 000) pratiquent l’hindouisme ou l’islam, les peuples montagnards des cultes animistes. Au Vietnam, le culte des ancêtres, qui est l’expression rituelle de la piété filiale, est parfois considéré comme une religion en soi. Il se fonde sur la croyance que l’âme du défunt survit après sa mort et protège ses descendants; une âme sans descendant est donc vouée à une errance éternelle.

Attention ! Le Vietnam possède un pouvoir de séduction qui peut provoquer le désir d’y venir.