Topography
The capital of Vietnam is Hanoi. Vietnam has contrasting terrain, where mountains and high plateaus cover two thirds of the Vietnamese territory. From the Thang Hoa region to the Chinese border, at the mountain pass of Lao Bao (Đà Nẵng region), its western frontier is the northern cordillera of Truong-Son, coming from the Tibetan plateau. The southern cordillera stretches from the Clouds Pass south of the region of Đanang till the Đalat region. Traditionally on distinguishes three main areas: the north, former Tonkin, the center, former Annam and  the south, former Cochinchina.

Climate
The Vietnamese climate is tropical and sub-tropical, with monsoons; humidity can be as high as 84%. There are two seasons in the south: the dry season (from November to April) and the rainy season (from May to October). However, in the northern part of Vietnam, seasons differe more (4 seasons) than in the south where temperatures is almost always between 21 to 28°C. Because of the differences in latitude and the different relief, the climate differs considerably from place to place. The average annual temperature is generally higher on the plains than in the mountains and plateaus where it varies between 5°C in December and January to over 37°C in April.

As of January 2007 Vietnam is member of the WTO (World Trade Organisation). The currency is called dong (1€ ≈ 28.500 dong, 2011) and the smallest note  is 200 and the largest is 500.000. There are many ATMs and not only in the cities. In 2010 inflation was 13.89 %, but 18.2 % in 2011. Food price inflation was even higher, almost 30 %. In 2011 the GBP was about $299.2 billion, which means $3,300 per capita. However, in 2011 the average salary was only about $150 and the minimum salary was $75. In 2010 the GBP per sector was about: agriculture = 20%, industry = 41.4% and services = 38.6%. The GBP growth was about 5.8%. The population below the poverty line was 18.9% of the population (2011 est.). In 2010 the amount was fixed on 400,000 dong and 500,000 dong per month for the country side and the city respectively.
In Vietnam the following materials are exploited:  phosphates, coal, manganese, bauxite, chromate, oil (approximately. 7 million tons). Also coal (6 million tons) and gas is found and hydro-electrical energy is produced. There are amongst others the following industrial sectors: manufacturing, food, apparel (clothing), shoes.
Vietnam is a large exporter of rice, pepper, cashew nuts and coffee. The agricultural and marine production consists of: rice, coffee, rubber, cotton, tea, pepper, peanuts, cashew nuts, sugar cane, bananas, fish and sea food.

Soil exploitation
Arable land: 17%
Crops: 4%
Pastures: 1%
Forests: 30%
Others: 48% (est. 1993)
Irrigated land: 18,600 km² (estimate)

Politics of Vietnam
Socialist Republic, people’s democracy, 1980 constitution with a single-party system led by President M. Trương Tấn San and Prime Minister Nguyễn Thị Doan (25/07/2011). Parliament: assembly elected by general elections for five years (latest elections on 22 May 2011 – 500 members of parliament elected out of 827 candidates).

Education
All schools in Vietnam were nationalized following reunification in 1976. It is estimated that in 1992 about 47 % of the 12-17-year-old children were going to school. “Free” and mandatory education has allowed to reduce illiteracy by 16.6% till 9.7% in 2008.

Topographie
La capitale de Vietnam est Hanoi. Le Vietnam présente un relief très contrasté, où les zones de montagnes et de hauts plateaux occupent les deux tiers du territoire vietnamien. De la région de Thang Hoa, à la frontière chinoise, au col de Lao Bao (région de Đà Nẵng), sa frontière Ouest est constituée par la cordillère de Truong-Son du Nord, issue du plateau tibétain. La cordillère du Sud s’étend du Col des Nuages, au sud de la région de Đanang, jusqu’à celle de Đalat. On distingue traditionnellement trois grandes régions, le Nord, ex-Tonkin, le Centre, ex-Annam et le Sud, ex-Cochinchine.

Climat
Le climat vietnamien est de type tropical et subtropical, avec des moussons ; l’humidité peut atteindre 84%. Dans le sud il existe deux saisons : la saison sèche (de novembre à avril) et la saison humide (de mai à octobre). Dans la moitié Nord du Vietnam les saisons sont plus marquées (4 saisons) qu’au Sud où la température ne varie quasiment qu’entre 21 et 28°C. En raison des différences de latitude et du relief varié, le climat diffère considérablement selon les régions. La température moyenne est généralement plus élevée dans les plaines que dans les montagnes et sur les plateaux plateaux où elle varie de 5°C en décembre et janvier, à plus de 37°C en avril.

Economie
A partir du janvier 2007 le Vietnam est membre de l’OMC (Organisation Mondiale du Commerce).
Le monnaie s’appelle le dong (1€ ≈ 28.500 dông, 2011) et le billet le plus petit est 200 et le plus large est 500 000. Il y a aussi des pieces de 200 jusqu´au 5.000 dong. ll y a beaucoup de distributeurs automatiques de billets et pas seulement dans les villes. En 2010 l’inflation était 13,89 % et 18,2 % en 2011.  L’inflation des prix alimentaires était bien plus élevée, presque 30 %. En 2011 le PIB était environ $299.2 billion, ce que veut dire environ $3,300 per capita. Cependant, en 2011 le salaire moyen n’était que d’environ 150 $ et le salaire minimum $ 75. En 2010 le PIB par secteur était environ : agriculture = 20%, industrie = 41,4% et services = 38,6%.  La croissance du PIB était environ 5,8%. La population en dessous du seuil de pauvreté était 18,9% de la population (2011 est.). En 2010, le montant a étét fixé à 400.000 dông et 500.000 dông/mois respectivement à la campagne et à la ville.
Au Vietnam on exploite les produit suivants : phosphates, houille, manganèse, bauxite, chromate, pétrole (environs 7 millions de tonnes). On y trouve aussi le charbon (6 millions de tonnes) et le gaz et de l’énergie hydro-électrique est produite. Comme secteurs d’industrie il y a entre autre : produits manufacturiers, produits alimentaires, vetements, chaussures.
Le Vietnam est un grand exportateur de riz, de poivre, d’anacardiers et de café. La production agriculture et marine existe de : riz, café, caoutchouc, coton, thé, poivre, cacahuètes, anacardiers, canne à sucre, bananes, poissons et fruits de mer.

Exploitation du sol 
Terres arables : 17%
Terres cultures : 4%
Terres paturages : 1%
Terres forêts : 30%
Autres : 48% (estimation 1993)
Terres irriguées : 18 600 km² (estimation)

Politique du Viêtnam 
République socialiste, démocratie populaire, constitution de 1980 avec systéme de parti unique avec  à sa tête le président Mr. Trương Tấn San et le premier ministre Nguyễn Thị Doan (25/07/2011). Parlement : assemblée élue au suffrage universel pour cinq ans (dernières élections le 22 Mai 2011 – 500 députés élus sur 827 candidats).

Education
Toutes les écoles du Vietnam ont été étatisées à la suite de la réunification de 1976. On estime qu’en 1992 quelque 47 % des enfants âgés de 12 à 17 ans étaient scolarisés. L’enseignement “gratuit” et obligatoire a permis en quelques années de réduire l’analphabétisme qui a régressé de 16,6 % jusqu’au 9,7 % en 2008.